The Secret Invention

  • Filename: the-secret-invention.
  • ISBN: 0545789044
  • Release Date: 2015-02-01
  • Number of pages: 128
  • Author: Thea Stilton
  • Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks



The students of Mouseford Academy are participating in an enormouse science fair! Mice from schools around the world are all hoping to take the top prize. The Thea Sisters would love to win, but so would Ruby Flashyfur - and shes willing to do whatever it takes! Can these mice play nice, or will the science fair be a total flop?

The Invention of Capitalism

  • Filename: the-invention-of-capitalism.
  • ISBN: 0822324911
  • Release Date: 2000-05-03
  • Number of pages: 412
  • Author: Michael Perelman
  • Publisher: Duke University Press



DIVRethinks the history of classical political economy by assessing the Marxian idea of “primitive accumulation,” the process by which a propertyless working class is created./div

How To Fly A Horse

  • Filename: how-to-fly-a-horse.
  • ISBN: 9781448185573
  • Release Date: 2015-01-29
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Author: Kevin Ashton
  • Publisher: Random House



WINNER OF THE 800-CEO-READ BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015 In the vein of Susan Cain's QUIET and Malcolm Gladwell's DAVID AND GOLIATH, HOW TO FLY A HORSE is a smart, empowering book that dispels the myths around genius and creativity. There is a myth about how something new comes to be; that geniuses have dramatic moments of insight where great things and thoughts are born whole. Symphonies are composed complete. Science is accomplished with eureka shrieks. Businesses are built by magic touch. The myth is wrong. Anyone can create. Acclaimed technology pioneer Kevin Ashton takes us behind the scenes of creation to reveal the true process of discovery and how ‘new’ comes to be. From Archimedes to Apple, from Kandinsky to the Coke can, from the Wright brothers – who set out to ‘fly a horse’ – to Woody Allen, he exposes the seemingly unremarkable individuals, gradual steps, multiple failures and countless ordinary and often uncredited acts that led to our most astounding breakthroughs.

The Invention of Wings

  • Filename: the-invention-of-wings.
  • ISBN: 9780698152427
  • Release Date: 2014-01-07
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Author: Sue Monk Kidd
  • Publisher: Penguin



From the celebrated author of The Secret Life of Bees, a #1 New York Times bestselling novel about two unforgettable American women. Writing at the height of her narrative and imaginative gifts, Sue Monk Kidd presents a masterpiece of hope, daring, the quest for freedom, and the desire to have a voice in the world. Hetty “Handful” Grimke, an urban slave in early nineteenth century Charleston, yearns for life beyond the suffocating walls that enclose her within the wealthy Grimke household. The Grimke’s daughter, Sarah, has known from an early age she is meant to do something large in the world, but she is hemmed in by the limits imposed on women. Kidd’s sweeping novel is set in motion on Sarah’s eleventh birthday, when she is given ownership of ten year old Handful, who is to be her handmaid. We follow their remarkable journeys over the next thirty five years, as both strive for a life of their own, dramatically shaping each other’s destinies and forming a complex relationship marked by guilt, defiance, estrangement and the uneasy ways of love. As the stories build to a riveting climax, Handful will endure loss and sorrow, finding courage and a sense of self in the process. Sarah will experience crushed hopes, betrayal, unrequited love, and ostracism before leaving Charleston to find her place alongside her fearless younger sister, Angelina, as one of the early pioneers in the abolition and women’s rights movements. Inspired by the historical figure of Sarah Grimke, Kidd goes beyond the record to flesh out the rich interior lives of all of her characters, both real and invented, including Handful’s cunning mother, Charlotte, who courts danger in her search for something better. This exquisitely written novel is a triumph of storytelling that looks with unswerving eyes at a devastating wound in American history, through women whose struggles for liberation, empowerment, and expression will leave no reader unmoved. From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Secret Invention

  • Filename: the-secret-invention.
  • ISBN: 9781772170252
  • Release Date: 2015-09-10
  • Number of pages: 205
  • Author: Kenneth King
  • Publisher: Club Lighthouse Publishing



Adeena Adare, a glamorous and successful poet, is caught up in life-threatening conspiratorial crosshairs along with her twin brother because his secret world-changing invention, a nano engine that runs on dark matter and antimatter will render oil companies, nuclear power, and public utilities obsolete. The Secret Invention is a futuristic novel in which science, art, and technology transform the world, as we know it.

House of Invention

  • Filename: house-of-invention.
  • ISBN: 1585746258
  • Release Date: 2002-09-01
  • Number of pages: 196
  • Author: David Lindsay
  • Publisher: Lyons Press



Recounts the origins of articles found in each room of a house, from the bathroom to the garage, and describes the personalities responsible for twenty-one everyday objects.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

  • Filename: the-invention-of-hugo-cabret.
  • ISBN: 9780545921947
  • Release Date: 2015-09-15
  • Number of pages: 544
  • Author: Brian Selznick
  • Publisher: Scholastic Inc.



Selznick's Caldecott Medal winner and #1 NY Times bestseller is now available in ebook form! Exquisitely produced, it offers a reading experience so unique, you'll want both the print and ebook editions! Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks -- like the gears of the clock he keeps -- with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo's undercover life and his most precious secret are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo's dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery. With 284 pages of original drawings, and combining elements of picture book, graphic novel, and film, Brian Selznick breaks open the novel form to create an entirely new reading experience. Here is a stunning, cinematic tour de force from a boldly innovative storyteller, artist, and bookmaker.

The Gospel Hoax

  • Filename: the-gospel-hoax.
  • ISBN: 9781932792485
  • Release Date: 2005
  • Number of pages: 151
  • Author: Stephen C. Carlson
  • Publisher: Baylor University Press



Secret Mark first became known to modern scholarship in 1958 when a newly hired assistant professor at Columbia University in New York by the name of Morton Smith visited the monastery of Mar Saba near Jerusalem and photographed its fragments. Secret Mark was announced on the heels of many spectacular discoveries of ancient manuscripts in the Near East, such as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Nag Hammadi gnostic corpus in the late 1940s, and promised to be just as revolutionary. Secret Mark presents what appears to be a valuable, albeit fragmentary, witness to early Christian traditions, traditions that might shed light on Jesus's most intimate behavior. In this book, Stephen C. Carlson uses state of the art science to demonstrate that Secret Mark was an elaborate hoax created by Morton Smith. Carlson's discussion places Smith's trick alongside many other hoaxes before probing the reasons why so many scholars have been taken in by it.

The Engineering Digest

  • Filename: the-engineering-digest.
  • ISBN: PRNC:32101049910167
  • Release Date: 1908
  • Number of pages:
  • Author: Harwood Frost
  • Publisher:



Each number includes section: The technical press index.

The Invention of Paris

  • Filename: the-invention-of-paris.
  • ISBN: 9781844678006
  • Release Date: 2011-05-23
  • Number of pages: 408
  • Author: Eric Hazan
  • Publisher: Verso Books



The Invention of Paris is a tour through the streets and history of the French capital under the guidance of radical Parisian author and publisher Eric Hazan. Hazan reveals a city whose squares echo with the riots, rebellions and revolutions of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Combining the raconteur’s ear for a story with a historian’s command of the facts, he introduces an incomparable cast of characters: the literati, the philosophers and the artists—Balzac, Baudelaire, Blanqui, Flaubert, Hugo, Maney, and Proust, of course; but also Doisneau, Nerval and Rousseau. It is a Paris dyed a deep red in its convictions. It is haunted and vitalized by the history of the barricades, which Hazan retells in rich detail. The Invention of Paris opens a window on the forgotten byways of the capital’s vibrant and bloody past, revealing the city in striking new colors.

The Secret

  • Filename: the-secret.
  • ISBN: 9781847396181
  • Release Date: 2008-09-04
  • Number of pages: 216
  • Author: Rhonda Byrne
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster



In 2006, a groundbreaking feature-length film revealed the great mystery of the universe—The Secret—and, later that year, Rhonda Byrne followed with a book that became a worldwide bestseller. Fragments of a Great Secret have been found in the oral traditions, in literature, in religions and philosophies throughout the centuries. For the first time, all the pieces of The Secret come together in an incredible revelation that will be life-transforming for all who experience it. In this book, you’ll learn how to use The Secret in every aspect of your life—money, health, relationships, happiness, and in every interaction you have in the world. You’ll begin to understand the hidden, untapped power that’s within you, and this revelation can bring joy to every aspect of your life. The Secret contains wisdom from modern-day teachers—men and women who have used it to achieve health, wealth, and happiness. By applying the knowledge of The Secret, they bring to light compelling stories of eradicating disease, acquiring massive wealth, overcoming obstacles, and achieving what many would regard as impossible.

English Reports Annotated

  • Filename: english-reports-annotated.
  • ISBN: STANFORD:36105062617894
  • Release Date: 1900
  • Number of pages:
  • Author: Sir Sidney Solomon Abrahams
  • Publisher:



DMCA - Contact