Ravenspur

  • Filename: ravenspur.
  • ISBN: 9781405921480
  • Release Date: 2016-05-19
  • Number of pages: 496
  • Author: Conn Iggulden
  • Publisher: Penguin UK



Witness the rise of the Tudors in the stunning conclusion to Conn Iggulden's powerful retelling of the Wars of the Roses. 'An utterly compelling page-turner full of historical facts. A fascinating read' Sun England, 1470. A divided kingdom cannot stand. King Edward of York has been driven out of England. Queen Elizabeth and her children tremble in sanctuary at Westminster Abbey. The House of Lancaster has won the crown, but York will not go quietly. Desperate to reclaim his throne, Edward lands at Ravenspur with a half-drowned army and his brother Richard at his side. Every hand is against them, every city gate is shut, yet the brothers York go on the attack. But neither sees that their true enemy is Henry Tudor, now grown into a man. As the Red Dragon - 'the man of destiny' - his claim to the throne leads to Bosworth Field and a battle that will call an end to the Wars of the Roses . . . 'A tough, pacy chronicle of bloody encounters, betrayals and cruelties. Superb' Daily Mail 'Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction' Daily Mirror 'Superb, fantastic, extraordinary' Sunday Express

The House of Ravenspur

  • Filename: the-house-of-ravenspur.
  • ISBN: MINN:31951002132993T
  • Release Date: 1822
  • Number of pages:
  • Author: Mrs. Jamieson (Frances Thurtle)
  • Publisher:



The Mystery of the Ravenspurs A Romance and Detective Story of Thibet and England

  • Filename: the-mystery-of-the-ravenspurs-a-romance-and-detective-story-of-thibet-and-england.
  • ISBN: 9781465616432
  • Release Date: 2017-06-30
  • Number of pages:
  • Author: Frederick Merrick White
  • Publisher: Library of Alexandria



A grand old castle looks out across the North Sea, and fishermen toiling on the deep catch the red flash from Ravenspur Point, as their forefathers have done for many generations. The Ravenspurs and their great granite fortress have made history between them. Every quadrangle and watch-tower and turret has its legend of brave deeds and bloody deeds, of fights for the king and the glory of the flag. And for five hundred years there has been no Ravenspur who has not acquitted himself like a man. Theirs is a record to be proud of. Time has dealt lightly with the home of the Ravenspurs. It is probably the most perfect mediæval castle in the country. The moat and the drawbridge are still intact; the portcullis might be worked by a child. And landwards the castle looks over a fair domain of broad acres where the orchards bloom and flourish and the red beeves wax fat in the pastures. A quiet family, a handsome family, a family passing rich in the world's goods, they are strong and brave—a glorious chronicle behind them and no carking cares ahead. Surely, then, the Ravenspurs should be happy and contented beyond most men. Excepting the beat of the wings of the Angel of Death, that comes to all sooner or later, surely no sorrow dwelt there that the hand of time could fail to soothe. And yet over them hung the shadow of a fear. No Ravenspur had ever slunk away from any danger, however great, so long as it was tangible; but there was something here that turned the stoutest heart to water, and caused strong men to start at their own shadows. For five years now the curse had lain heavy on the house of Ravenspur. It had come down upon them without warning; at first in the guise of a series of accidents and misfortunes, until gradually it became evident that some cunning and remorseless enemy was bent upon exterminating the Ravenspurs root and branch. There had been no warning given, but one by one the Ravenspurs died mysteriously, horribly, until at last no more than seven of the family remained. The North-country shuddered in speaking of the ill-starred family. The story had found its way into print. Scotland Yard had taken the case in hand; but still the hapless Ravenspurs died, mysteriously murdered, and even some of those who survived had tales to unfold of marvelous escapes from destruction. The fear grew on them like a hunting madness. From first to last not one single clue, however small, had the murderers left behind. Family archives were ransacked and personal histories explored with a view to finding some forgotten enemy who had originated this vengeance. But the Ravenspurs had ever been generous and kind, honorable to men and true to women, and none could lay a finger on the blot.

Master of Ravenspur

  • Filename: master-of-ravenspur.
  • ISBN: 0176329080
  • Release Date: 1970
  • Number of pages: 156
  • Author: Bert Williams
  • Publisher: [Don Mills, Ont.] : Thomas Nelson



The Midnight Guest

  • Filename: the-midnight-guest.
  • ISBN: 9788822845412
  • Release Date: 2016-09-16
  • Number of pages:
  • Author: Fred M White
  • Publisher: Fred M White



A HANSOM pulled up in front of 799, Park Lane, and a slim figure of a woman, dressed in deep mourning, ran up the broad flight of marble steps leading to the house. Her features were closely concealed by a thick veil, so that the footman who answered the ring could make nothing of the visitor. Her voice was absolutely steady as she asked to see Lord Ravenspur at once. "That is impossible, madam," the footman protested; "his lordship is not yet down, and besides—" "There is no 'besides' about it," the visitor said, imperiously. "It is a matter of life and death."

The English Rebel

  • Filename: the-english-rebel.
  • ISBN: 9780670918263
  • Release Date: 2009-08-06
  • Number of pages: 496
  • Author: David Horspool
  • Publisher: Penguin UK



The English have a rich and glorious history of making trouble for themselves. One hundred and forty years before the French Revolution, the English executed their king and instituted a radical revolutionary government. In 1215, more than 570 years before the United States ratified its Bill of Rights, England's barons forced King John to accept the Magna Carta. In 1926 over 1.5 million strikers brought the nation to its knees. From the Peasants' Revolt to the suffragettes, from Oliver Cromwell to Arthur Scargill, this ground-breaking and hugely enjoyable book describes a rich and continuous tradition of resistance, rebellion and radicalism, of violent and charismatic individuals with axes to grind, and of social eruptions and political earthquakes that have shaped England's whole culture and character.

La battaglia di Ravenspur

  • Filename: la-battaglia-di-ravenspur.
  • ISBN: 9788858516430
  • Release Date:
  • Number of pages: 504
  • Author: Conn Iggulden
  • Publisher: Edizioni Piemme



Dall'autore di romanzi storici più amato in Inghilterra, una serie evento sulla Guerra delle Due Rose, subito bestseller internazionale. "Trasferite Il Trono di Spade nell'Inghilterra del 1400, e avrete la nuova serie di Conn Iggulden. Scintille assicurate." The Sunday Times "Un capolavoro di ambientazione, azione, intrigo e avventura. Iggulden è il vero maestro della narrativa storica oggi." The Independent

The Raven and the Rose

  • Filename: the-raven-and-the-rose.
  • ISBN: 9780307568120
  • Release Date: 2009-07-29
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Author: Virginia Henley
  • Publisher: Island Books



Her hair was black and silk against her ivory skin; her gray eyes burned with opal fire. The love child of King Edward IV, Roseanna was pledged to her father's most prized warrior. He was dark, strong, and commanding, and in the bedchamber, where he forced her to honor her marriage vows, she learned not to crave his intoxicating touch. And still she swore not to love him even as she surrendered to the dark rapture of...the Raven. From the Paperback edition.

The Raven and the Rose

  • Filename: the-raven-and-the-rose.
  • ISBN: 9780307568120
  • Release Date: 2009-07-29
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Author: Virginia Henley
  • Publisher: Island Books



Her hair was black and silk against her ivory skin; her gray eyes burned with opal fire. The love child of King Edward IV, Roseanna was pledged to her father's most prized warrior. He was dark, strong, and commanding, and in the bedchamber, where he forced her to honor her marriage vows, she learned not to crave his intoxicating touch. And still she swore not to love him even as she surrendered to the dark rapture of...the Raven. From the Paperback edition.

Dunstan

  • Filename: dunstan.
  • ISBN: 9781405921503
  • Release Date: 2017-05-04
  • Number of pages: 480
  • Author: Conn Iggulden
  • Publisher: Penguin UK



** 'Iggulden has created an intriguingly complex saint - flawed, spiteful and unreliable as the teller of his own tale. Through his eyes we watch the story of the making of England' The Times ** From the critically acclaimed master of historical fiction Conn Iggulden, comes a novel set in the red-blooded days of Anglo-Saxon England. This is the original game for the English throne. In the year 937, King Æthelstan, grandson of Alfred the Great, readies himself to throw a great spear into the north. His dream of a kingdom of all England will stand or fall on one field and the passage of a single day. At his side is Dunstan of Glastonbury, full of ambition and wit, perhaps enough to damn his soul. His talents will take him from the villages of Wessex to the royal court, to the hills of Rome - from exile to exaltation. Through Dunstan's vision, by his guiding hand, England may come together as one great country - or fall back into anarchy and misrule . . . From one of our finest historical writers, Dunstan is an intimate portrait of a priest and performer, a visionary, a traitor and confessor to kings - the man who changed the fate of England.

Wars of the Roses Trinity

  • Filename: wars-of-the-roses-trinity.
  • ISBN: 9780718196370
  • Release Date: 2014-09-25
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Author: Conn Iggulden
  • Publisher: Penguin UK



The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Trinity, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master, Conn Iggulden. 1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father. Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil. The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York will surely mean a war to tear England apart . . . Following on from Stormbird, Trinity is the second epic instalment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go. Praise for Stormbird: 'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times 'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent 'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express 'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday 'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times

Blackwater

  • Filename: blackwater.
  • ISBN: 9780007285457
  • Release Date: 2009-03-06
  • Number of pages: 96
  • Author: Conn Iggulden
  • Publisher: HarperCollins UK



A dark, chilling psychological thriller from the number one bestselling author of the Emperor series. Blackwater was published as part of the Quick Reads initiative on World Book Day 2006.

DMCA - Contact